Skip to content

Three Minute Thesis 2024 Heats

UT graduate students are preparing to participate in the 2024 Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition. To begin with, they will compete across three heats. Four competitors will be chosen from each heat and the twelve winners will move forward to the final competition. The final competition will then take place on April 3 from 1:30-3 during Graduate and Professional Student Appreciation Week (GPSAW).

Heat 1: February 26, 9:00-11:00 (Student Union 169)

  • Annalyse Leach—Animal Science
  • Mahipal Singh Rao—Biochemistry & Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Alexandra Carlson—Comparative and Experimental Medicine
  • Saurabh Pethe—Energy Science and Engineering
  • Aritra Moulick—Social Work
  • Harshvardhan—Management Science
  • Santhosh Raj Srinivasan—Social Work
  • Megan Kleeschulte—Anthropology
  • Zoha Laraib—Physics
  • Charles Flowers—Child and Family Studies

Heat 2: February 27, 9:00-11:00 (Student Union 169)

  • Katherine Trubee—Political Science
  • Shokoufeh Soleimani—Biomedical Engineering
  • Amy Kurr—Energy Science and Engineering
  • Byron Keys—Communication and Information
  • Loren Foley—Animal Science
  • Namrata Mukherjee—Social Work
  • Lauren Miller—Energy Science and Engineering
  • Zoilo Roy Perez—Plant, Soil, and Environmental Sciences
  • Emmanuel Allwell—Microbiology
  • Meena Gowrishankar—Energy Science and Engineering

Heat 3: March 1, 1:00-3:00 (Student Union 169)

  • Elizabeth Sowell—Nursing
  • Caleb Napper—Civil Engineering
  • Kriti Jain—Psychology
  • Kristin Schrader—Communication and Information
  • Kayla Stuart—Forestry
  • Kelechi Akwataghibe—Mathematics
  • Brigid Ogden—Anthropology
  • Scott Greeves—Communication and Information
  • Payton Johnson—Recreation and Sport Management
  • Emily Hutchins—Nuclear Engineering
  • Anika Sarkar—Civil Engineering

Please come out and support these participants as they tell you about their research and its importance to people just like you.

Got questions about the 2024 Three Minute Thesis? Contact Sean Hendricks ( or Abby Sherman (

Friday, March 1 at 1:00pm to 3:00pm

Student Union, 169
1502 Cumberland Ave. Knoxville, TN 37996

Event Type

Lectures & Presentations


Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Entrepreneurship, Agriculture, Architecture & Design, Communication & Information, Engineering, Professional Development


Current Students, Faculty & Staff, Alumni, General Public



Graduate School


Contact Name

Sean Hendricks

Contact Email

Contact Phone


Google Calendar iCal Outlook

Recent Activity